Stacey: The Hopeless Chef

They say that there is nothing quite like your mums cooking. Sometimes I wonder if this is one of the reasons that I have not been blessed with children, πŸ˜‰ James woke up this morning with a stuffy nose and a headache. So, me being the wonderful wife that I am, decided it would be a great idea to make my family’s Homemade Chicken soup πŸ˜€ I have never made this before, so I had my uncle and sister send me the recipes.

From Uncle Jim:Β 

Boil 4 chicken thighs with chicken stock cubes to taste

plus, 2 carrots, one onion, celery stalk, 6 peppercorns, one large potato cut into 4 and a tomato

Should take about 40 mins in a litre of water.

From Lucy:

The way to do it is, 4/5 chicken thighs

1 potato, 2 carrots, 10 cloves, 4 cardomoms, chicken stock cubes, 1 tomato,

Bring to boil and cook on low heat for half an hour.

I am not a smarty pants when it comes to cooking, so this wasn’t the greatest recipe I had ever received, to me, it was more like, take these ingredients and shove them in some water then boil it., there was no step by step guide, which, if you know me, you know I need that in order to be able to create anything edible. I am already taking a big risk. So I went to the local grocery store, I wondered up and down the aisles looking for cloves and cardomom, all they had was ground cloves, or ground cardamom, and that was $10 a jar, that is much too expensive, so I put it back, then right when I was about to give up, and after lots of picture messages of what a whole clove looks like from my sister. I found them, hooray AND cardomom seeds, they smell the same as regular cardamoms but look different so I figured they would work.

Stacey’s ingredients:

,ingredients

Alright, so we have, 2 chicken thighs, 2 chicken drumsticks, 1 potato, 2 carrots, jasmine white rice, Chicken Boulion, cloves, peppercorn, cardomom seeds, an onion (which I didn’t use) and Kale.

So from my great step by step guide, I began to chop up the veggies and potato, boil some water and then I threw everything in there.

To my horror this is what it looked like…….

ingredients together

This does not look like how I remember it, so I sent Lucy a picture and she reprimands me for leaving the skin on, so I ofcourse felt like an idiot. I like the skin, it makes it more flavorful, But I wasn’t sure if I was giving myself food poisoning or doing something terrible to my health. Β I left it on anyway. I then started to worry I had done something incorrect, i could not understand why it looked like this green water with giant pieces of chicken. There was nothing I could do about it, Lucy refused to facetime me as she was trying to sleep and mum and dad did not respond to my text. So I was all alone, in my kitchen, with nobody to tell me how to make this soup I had never made before, and I was so frustrated at myself that I had already screwed it up.

Then after it had been boiling for about 20mins, I looked at lucys text only to see it say cook on LOW heat for half an hour, so I rush over and turn the heat down. By now the soup was starting to smell just like nanny’s and Lucys, I knew I had got something right. I set the timer to 15 minutes and threw in some Kale about 5 minutes before the timer went off and I was surprised to see it didn’t look totally disgusting…

ingredientssimmering

I was so happy that it now looked appetizing and not like I had thrown a dead chicken into a bowl of green puke. The smell brought back all the memories of being at nanny’s house or being with Lucy at her flat, it’s amazing what the smell of home cooking can do to your brain. Β I was beginning to get really excited. BUT then…. I put everything in a bowl, and it looked like this……

lookswierd

This does not look like Lucy or Nan’s chicken soup. The chicken fills the entire bowl, how are you supposed eat that with a spoon, let alone call it a soup. I am extremely confused, it smells great, I used all the correct ingredients, I begin to wonder if there is such a thing as obese chickens over here , english chicken thighs are minuscule in comparison. So I come to that conclusion (that in america we have obese chickens) and pull the chicken out the bowl. I cut it up and stick it back in the bowl and VOILA……

tadaa

This is what I remember πŸ™‚ No big fat chicken taking up the entire bowl. Β It was incredibly yummy and delicious and I especially loved it with the kale. I hate celery, so I used the kale instead of that. Thank you for all your help Jim and Lucy, it really was that easy and I had all that worrying over nothing. It turned out marvelously.

I got there in the end guys πŸ˜€ We all know I was not blessed with the gift of cooking, but with a little bit of practice I’ll be sending you all my recipes in no time πŸ˜‰

Now everyone has the recipe, so if you want to try a new chicken soup, this is by far my favorite.

Love to you all xoxoxoox

7 thoughts on “Stacey: The Hopeless Chef

  1. The key to any skill is TRYING…and you have not only done that, but reaped the rewards. Wish I was there to take a few bites. Cooking? It may never be your favorite thing, but you will feed your family well and they will all LOVE you for it.

  2. Well done stace, nannys chicken soup is the best! Hope James feels better…now you have to try a curry as you can get some ingredients lol xx

Leave a Reply

